My Adventures in Tarot

Not too long ago I participated in an Angel Card Reading class that was taught by a client and good friend of mine. I had owned a tarot deck for years, but had only purchased it for the stunning artwork on it. I had no idea how to use it, and frankly, raised in the religious home I was raised in, even mentioning tarot or anything like that was strictly forbidden.

At 41, I feel like this was less an act of rebellion and more an act of self-discovery. I am certain my parents would disagree.

Each tarot, oracle or angel card deck is different, but the basic meanings of the cards and suits are generally the same. There are some exceptions. For instance, I have a deck based on stories that revolve around the seven chakras. It doesn’t follow the standard suits at all.

The original tarot deck, the Rider-Waite deck is generally looked at as the “Bible” of the tarot, since it was the first. Most other decks are based off its images and values.

Angel cards and oracle cards are more loosely based on tarot, if at all. They often come from a more spiritual viewpoint as well. To me, you choose the deck or decks that feel right, or resonate with you.

In my friend’s class I learned how to clear the energy from a deck and how to imprint it with my own energy. We were asked to choose a deck, to clear it, to choose a question or an intention, and then to draw a card. We were to look up the meaning of the card in the accompanying booklet and to apply it to our intention or question. Amazingly, each deck I did this with, the cards seemed to be right on.

In the course of the class, I was informed that the most important part of reading tarot is how in tune you are with your intuition. You can accurately read your own, or someone else’s tarot purely from intuition and the impression you get when you look at the images on a card. This fascinated me. I thought I had to have some magical power or some mystical gift…but the strong levels of intuition that I have, and my ability to read another human being both work amazingly well with the tarot.

After successfully reading a few people, and getting some very interesting (and accurate) readings from others, I just felt like tarot was something I needed to get into more. I ordered my new deck from Amazon before I left the parking lot. The Chakra Oracle deck is not only beautiful, but puts a really creative spin on things. I find that I am drawn to use that particular deck when I am struggling with my creativity or my emotions.

My Cosmic Tarot deck is my standard “go to” deck, but I also have a third deck that I sometimes use. Just like you would use your intuition to choose the cards you draw, I also use my intuition to choose my deck for the reading.

As any beginner might, I chose to look up the meanings of the cards I drew each day online. Partly to confirm what my intuition was telling me as to the meaning of the card, and partly to get to know the standard card meanings better. I found that the best site for me, the one that seemed the most informative, consistent and accurate was Biddy Tarot. As though it was meant to be, not long after I started using this site, I saw their ad for a free 31 day tarot reading program. I signed up immediately!

I started getting emails daily, walking me through learning each card. I was encouraged to keep a journal, and I began with a written one, but decided that blogging would be the best way for me. I am a faster typist, and this way, it is all here online for my quick and easy future reference.

So, if you are joining me on my adventure, welcome. Drop in any time to see what I am learning from the universe about myself, the tarot, and my life journey.

Thanks for coming along!

Leave a comment